Marinated aubergine

Marinated aubergine

20130811-090509.jpg

Yesterday my boyfriend and I spent over 3 hours deep cleaning our home. This may not sound like long enough to get in a proper deep clean, but we only live in a little one bed flat – so we did it properly! I spent the entire three hours just doing the kitchen so it’s completely gleaming and ready to be dirtied again with lots more cooking!

20130811-090929.jpg

When the end was in sight it was pushing 2:30pm and we were thinking of lunch. Not wanting to make another trip to the supermarket (having already been once for breakfast items and then again for cleaning products) I had a look around our very clean and very empty fridge for inspiration. I spied a couple of aubergines and a few mint leaves which instantly sparked a memory of reading a recipe that combined the two in Yvette van Boven’s Home Made. I griddled the aubergine and left them, as instructed, to soak the marinade for half an hour. And so 45 minutes later, when the house was looking as beautiful as possibly, we had delicious marinated aubergines on toast scrubbed with garlic.

20130811-090642.jpg

You will need:

(Adapted from Home Made)

2 small aubergines
A handful of mint leaves, shredded, plus extra to garnish
A handful of parsley, finely chopped
1.5 tbspn honey
100ml balsamic vinegar
Extra Virgin olive oil
Salt, pepper

Method:

1 – Slice the aubergines into fairly substantial rounds, season and brush with oil
2 – Heat a griddle pan and add the aubergine slices once hot; cook for around 4 minutes on each side until charred and softened
3 – Meanwhile prepare your marinade by whisking the balsamic, honey and around 75ml of olive oil; stir in some seasoning and the chopped/shredded herbs
4 – Tip the cooked aubergines into a flat serving dish and spoon over the marinade, drizzling over extra olive oil to ensure a good coating
5 – Leave to stand for 30 minutes and scatter over the remaining mint leaves; serve with crusty toasted white bread that’s been scrubbed well with a whole garlic clove

20130811-090755.jpg

12 thoughts on “Marinated aubergine

    1. Ah thanks. For some reason I’ve hardly made anything from this book in the six months or so I’ve owned it, and I’m really not sure why because everything looks delicious! Must start treating all cookbooks with equal affection! It’s a nice one this actually, I made a few small changes to the original but the essence is very similar. Give it a go!!

      1. It is aubergine season, so I will give it a go!
        I haven’t made too many recipes from the book either as a matter of fact! But I HIGHLY recommend the duck breast and wild rice salad, I’ve made it many times and it is fantastic! :)

  1. I love it when the last ingredients in the fridge seem to join together in a happy little dance… the combination of the eggplant, herbs and balsamic sounds divine. My husband loves eggplant. I think he’d adore this bruschetta (oh, and good on you for the huge clean! We live in a tiny apartment also so I can imagine how thorough you must’ve been) x

    1. It was nice actually. I’d never thought to try balsamic with aubergine/eggplant as wasn’t sure it would work, but seeing it in a recipe gives you the courage to try it out and I’m glad I did!

Leave a Reply

