Cucumber & feta couscous with dill & mint

20130815-202602.jpg

Just a super quick one tonight because I’m off to the Loire Valley for a week tomorrow, and need to get packing! The prospect of eating nothing but cheese and drinking French wine fills me with lots of pleasure, but a teeny bit of guilt, so it’s a healthy dinner tonight.
Couscous (giant, naturally), feta and cucumber jazzed up with pistachios, fennel seeds, mint and dill. Wholesome, super fresh and delicious. That’s it from me – next stop France!

20130815-202813.jpg

You will need:

2 small Turkish cucumbers
200g feta cheese, crumbled
50g shelled pistachios
A few sliced radishes, optional
Large handful of chopped dill
Handful of shredded mint
1 cup of Israeli giant couscous
1.25 cups of water
2 tspns fresh ground fennel seeds
Juice of 1 lemon
Salt, pepper
Olive oil
Yoghurt, to serve
Chilli flakes, to serve

Method:

1 – Tip your couscous into a pan with the water, fennel seeds and some seasoning; bring to the boil and simmer til just cooked and the water has absorbed
2 – Squeeze half the lemon juice over the couscous, plus a generous glug of oil and set aside to cool
3 – Meanwhile prepare the cucumbers; slice in half lengthways and scoop out the seeds before slicing; salt the slices
4 – Once cool, toss the couscous with the chopped fresh herbs, the cucumbers, the radishes and pistachios
5 – Crumble the feta over the top, and squeeze the rest of the lemon juice on top of the salad; drizzle with oil, add a touch of black pepper and a few chilli flakes, plus some yoghurt, to serve

20130815-203046.jpg

9 thoughts on “Cucumber & feta couscous with dill & mint

  1. Yum! This is definitely my kind of dinner! Dill is such an underrated herb… it’s quite delicious in its own right, but most people (me included) just tend to use it with fish. Love the combination of the feta and the cucumber. Gorgeous. Have a fantastic time in France!! xx

    1. I like dill too, especially with cucumber! My boyfriend loves it. It’s also just really pretty in salads I think.
      I’m so looking forward to France, thank you! Ill try and keep updates coming on the things I find while I’m there x

      1. Definitely agree re the prettiness, it’s a very delicate herb (I feel the same way about thyme, I want to put it in everything as it’s just so beautiful). Looking fwd to reading your travel posts! xx

    1. It’s great isn’t it! I can’t get enough of it. I can’t eat regular couscous now it just feels wrong! Thank you I’m sure I’ll come home feeling very indulged – and hopefully will find things along the way to share :-)

Leave a Reply

