Beetroot & apple autumn salad with mint, ginger and pomegranate molasses

20131022-215709.jpg

I’ve never cooked beetroot before. Not sure how that happened. It seems the more I cook the more things I realised I haven’t cooked. I think it’s probably just realising how many types of food there out are there… And also knowing that I have my safe territory of ingredients I know and love and could cook with my eyes closed. I wouldn’t say I have a rotation or standard set of meals I often make, though. In fact I rarely make the same thing twice – because I crave new, the untasted, the unexplored. So given this, it’s funny that I haven’t cooked beetroot before. Silly really. Oh well – now I have and i can confirm they’re nicer freshly roasted that purchased in a pack. Obviously – this is always the case!

20131022-220057.jpg

The beetroots are paired with a minty pomegranate molasses and yoghurt dressing, plus crunchy apple (this could be roasted or grated if big raw chunks are too much for you) and poppy giant couscous peppered with fresh ginger. A perfect, slightly unusual autumn salad.

Oh – we ate this with leftover lamb bites from the other night. Lamb goes well with this salad so if you’re a lamb chop kind of person maybe try this on the side!

20131022-215943.jpg

You will need:

For the salad:

5 tennis ball size beetroots, leaves removed
1 large cup of giant couscous (or any grain you want!)
1 Braeburn apple, cut into slim wedges
5 spring onions, sliced
1 thumb sized piece of ginger, finely sliced
Juice of 1/2 lemon
Handful of salad leaves
Handful of shredded mint
1 Tspn chilli flakes
Salt, pepper
Olive oil

For the dressing:

1 tbspn Greek yoghurt
Juice of 1/2 lemon
Handful of shredded mint
1 tbspn pomegranate molasses
1 tbspn olive oil
A little water, to loosen
Salt, pepper

Method:

1 – Preheat your oven to 200 degrees; places the whole beetroots on a baking tray, coat them with salt and oil and roast for 40-50 minutes until soft
2 – Leave to cool while you prepare your couscous; place it in a saucepan with a little seasoning and cover with 1 1/4 large cups of oiling water and simmer for 8-10 mins until the water is absorbed
3 – Meanwhile gently fry the spring onions and ginger in a little oil until just softened
4 – Now make your dressing by mixing all of the ingredients together, adding water to reach a dripping consistency
5 – Once cooked and cooled slightly, mix the couscous with a tbspn of oil and the chilli flakes; stir the spring onions and ginger in, plus the salad leaves
6 – Peel your beetroot once soft enough to handle and toss this gently along with the apple (with a little lemon juice squeezed over it to prevent browning) and mint into the couscous mix
7 – Serve with the dressing on top and extra pomegranate molasses if desired

20131022-220155.jpg

7 thoughts on “Beetroot & apple autumn salad with mint, ginger and pomegranate molasses

  1. This is definitely my favourite kind of food. Fresh, vibrant, textural, tangy and sweet at the same time. Nourishing. Love the addition of the pomegranate molasses, I’m obsessed with it at the moment. Ottolenghi would be so proud! xx

  2. Very nice flavors! I am sure that salad was delicious. And I agree, roasted beets are so much better than packaged cooked beets! You were right to give it a try!

    1. Yes it was lovely! If you’re not a fan of couscous I think it would still be nice with lentils, as they’d be so earthy in contrast to the sweet/tart apple. Maybe it would still be great naked of grains though! X

  3. Ooo I’ve got half a bag of giant cous cos in the cuboard I’ve been waiting for a recipe for! This looks like the perfect one :-) Love a good autumn salad. I’m totally the same with ingrediants – love trying new things and discovering new ingrediants! Why cook the same thing when you can try something new! Glad it’s not just me.

Leave a Reply

