Pineapple chutney with nigella seeds

20131229-233034.jpg

Hello and happy holidays! It’s been a little while since my last post – I’ve been in the Alps (Morzine in France, specifically) for a rather unusual but brilliant Christmas. I spent the week throwing myself around in the snow rather crazily on a snowboard, eating lots of French bread, lounging in an outdoor hot tub, wrapping freezing hands around steaming cups of Vin Chaud and gorging on fondu Savoyarde (more on this another time!)
It was different certainly, challenging and incredibly fun. A great break. But even though I spent this Christmas very differently to every other year I still had a massive hankering for strong Indian/curry flavours. This always happens to me after eating roast dinners! I seem to crave exotic flavours whenever I’ve been indulging in British or French food.

20131229-233144.jpg

Tonight being the first night I could get back in the kitchen, I decided to cook a big spicy feast for friends and family. Lamb saag made with a whole leg of beautiful tender lamb, a creamy coconut and chickpea dhal, minted yoghurt and the recipe I’m sharing today – a pineapple chutney – we’re all served up with plenty of steaming fluffy rice and poppadoms. It was quite a feast, and one which required a lot of onion chopping. I used my ski goggles to prevent tears!

20131229-233249.jpg

The chutney itself took me by surprise – it tasted sweet and tart at once, fruity and slightly savoury and with the wonderfully distinctive nigella seeds. I followed (ish) a BBC recipe but added extra tomatoes in place of additional pineapple, a substitution that was perfect for my tastes. I’d really suggest making this next time you serve curry. It’s impressive, infinitely more delicious than jarred mango chutneys and so stupidly easy.

20131229-233356.jpg

You will need:

1.5 red onions, finely chopped
2 red chillies, finely chopped
2 tspn finely chopped fresh ginger
1 tbspn nigella seeds
1 tbspn mustard seeds
2 tbspn turmeric
1 ripe pineapple, freshly chopped into small chunks
2 medium tomatoes, halved
250g light brown sugar
150ml cider vinegar
1 tspn salt
A little vegetable or other flavourless oil

Method:

1 – Heat a little oil in a pan and add the onion; sweat for a few minutes before tipping in the spices
2 – Cook for 2 minutes before adding the chilli and ginger; once softened add the pineapple and tomatoes followed by the vinegar, sugar and salt
3 – Stir to combine and leave to simmer for around 45 minutes until the juices thicken and the pineapple softens; be careful to stir often to avoid burning the sauce
4 – Once cooked, leave to cool completely before serving with poppadoms or flatbreads with a little natural yoghurt for a cooling effect

20131229-233504.jpg

5 thoughts on “Pineapple chutney with nigella seeds

  1. That looks absolutely delicious! I’ve made my own mango chutney before but never a pineapple one. Yay for Indian feasts with lots of sides! Glad that you had a wonderful break at Christmas in France. Sounds beautiful! Happy new year for tomorrow lovely. Hope that 2014 is a great one! xx

    1. Thank you! I think I preferred this kind with pineapple to any mango chutney I’ve tried actually. Didn’t think that would be possible as I love mango chutney! But the pineapple just made it so refreshing. I’d recommend it! Hope you also have had a lovely Christmas and wishing you a very happy 2014 too x

Leave a Reply

