Aubergines & chickpeas with rosemary & garlic

20140107-195425.jpg

I bought a copy of Nigel Slater’s Eat a month or so ago and have been flicking through it on a regular basis ever since. I normally find myself doing this. I take a while to get familiarised with the recipes on offer, and log them in some recipe compartment in my brain. Then, suddenly, one night one will pop into focus and I’ll decide to cook it. Often a long time after I read about it. Often when I first thought I wouldn’t probably bother making that dish for whatever reason. Is it just me who does this?

20140107-200521.jpg

Today was *hopefully* my last day of illness and I decided to make a little test excursion to see how I’d fare outside. It was kind of exhausting but I made it to the shops and once there bought the very few ingredients required for dinner – a recipe chosen from my mentally stored ideas from the Nigel Slater book.

20140107-200620.jpg

If you haven’t tried this book I’d definitely give it a go. The book is more about concepts than recipes, ideas for when you just want good food and fairly quickly. It’s simple, but inspiring. Every recipe comes with a series of alternative ideas, replacements, tips and notes. I really enjoyed reading it. It’s a brilliant guide for midweek eating certainly.

This recipe I’ve chosen is incredibly simple – just a few key ingredients. I was intrigued by the concept. Basically you take half of the cooked aubergine and chickpeas and blitz into a hummus-like purée/paste and serve the remaining whole ingredients on top. Sadly my taste buds still haven’t returned but my boyfriend Scott once again declared this recipe a winner in terms of flavour. Subtle and real. I enjoyed very much the textural combinations of the food. Especially when paired with a light herby couscous. I threw a little extra dill on top (leftover from the couscous) and Scott said he wished I’d used more as he really enjoyed the freshness it brought to the dish.

20140107-200840.jpg

Hopefully the next recipe I post will include a positive personal flavour report – I’m getting fed up with losing this very important sense! Here’s to getting better and tasting once more… Please!

You will need:

2 medium aubergines
2 x 400g tin chickpeas, drained and rinsed
4 cloves of crushed garlic
4-5 sprigs of rosemary, finely chopped
A handful of dill (optional)
Salt, pepper
Olive oil

Method:

1 – Start by preheating the grill to medium-high
2 – Mix together the rosemary and garlic, plus seasoning, with about 4-5 tbspns olive oil
3 – Slice the Aubergines into 1cm slices and brush all over with the rosemary oil mix
4 – Place the aubergine on a tray and grill til golden on each side (20 mins or so)
5 – Meanwhile heat a little oil in a pan and add the chickpeas plus seasoning; fry for 5 minutes until hot and fragrant before transferring half to a deep bowl
6 – Add half the cooked aubergine to the bowl and blend with a tablespoon of oil and a little water to loosen the mix to a hummus-like consistency
7 – Season the purée and serve immediately with the remaining chickpeas and aubergine slices on top; add extra oil and dill, if using

20140107-200943.jpg

6 thoughts on “Aubergines & chickpeas with rosemary & garlic

    1. It’s hard for me to vouch taste wise- my boyfriend said it was nice and he is very honest! The texture works nicely as long as you include a little water and oil (perhaps yoghurt?) when blending. I have some leftovers that I’m hoping to be able to taste for lunch today so can conclude later!

Leave a Reply

