Spiced mooli ribbons with steamed chicken

20140407-211956.jpg

I could definitely get used to this healthy eating business. It’s certainly no reason to miss out on flavour. Indeed, Middle Eastern , Indian and Asian flavours are possibly some of the best ways to pep up simple vegetables. A good source of inspiration is my beloved Plenty book. Mr Ottolenghi has included a recipe for a spiced butter tagliatelle, which I was reminded of this week when perusing the rather excellent The Brook Cook blog.

20140407-212421.jpg

Now pasta is off the menu, but lean protein like chicken is all go. So I just replaced the tagliatelle with ribbons of mooli, left out the butter and added a healthy dose of chicken. So yeah I kind of changed it beyond recognition… But the flavours were so delicious. A fantastic mix of spices! One day I’ll try the original version, but for today this was extremely satisfying after a short 5k run home.

20140407-212514.jpg

You will need:

1 large white radish/mooli/daikon
2 chicken breasts
Handful roughly chopped parsley
Handful roughly chopped mint
1 tspn ground coriander
1 tspn smoked paprika
1/2 tspn turmeric
1 tspn cinnamon
Pinch of saffron
Pinch of salt
1/2 tspn chilli flakes
50g toasted pine nuts
1 spring onion, chopped
2 tbspn extra Virgin olive oil

Method:

1 – Start by steaming the chicken; place the breasts in a bamboo steamer position over a bubbling pot of water
2 – The chicken won’t take long, maybe 5-8 minutes; remove from the steamer when just done and tear into bite sized pieces once cool enough to handle
3 – Next mix together the spring onions, dry spices, saffron, salt and oil together
4 – Meanwhile, peel, top and tail the mooli and then use the peeler to carve the vegetable into long ribbons about the size of tagliatelle
5 – Toss the mooli strips with the fresh herbs, pine nuts and chicken; drizzle over the spiced oil just before serving, giving it just one gentle turn into the mooli/chicken to roughly coat

20140407-212606.jpg

9 thoughts on “Spiced mooli ribbons with steamed chicken

  1. I’ve never heard of mooli, what is it? Some sort of vegetable I’m assuming… argh, I’m tempted to just use google but I figure dialogue is best! The recipe looks delish. I am a huge fan of Ottolenghi, as you know… he is the spice legend! xx

    1. It’s a weird long white radish! Also known as daikon. It’s pretty bland but had a nice crunchy texture and holds the flavours of the spices well. A good little vehicle! First time I’ve ever used one, but I always see them and thought it was about time I gave them a shot!

      1. Ohh, I’ve heard of a daikon. Never tried it though, I can imagine how the texture would work well! Thanks for the inspiration, I will track one down :)

Leave a Reply

