Trout with aioli

20140504-203344.jpg

I love a good food find. Today I visited the farmers’ market at Brockwell and located two things of high interest to me – a fabulous fish counter selling beautiful whole fresh trouts at just £3.50 each, and a stall selling only asparagus, by grade. I wasn’t sure which grade I purchased – I went by sight and chose the one that appealed the most. I prefer the skinnier stalks and these were delicious.

20140504-203507.jpg

So to go with my trout and asparagus, I decided a creamy and super garlicky aioli was in order. My god my arm now aches from all that beating! But it was very worth it. What a way to complete an otherwise incredibly simple, healthy spring time dinner.

20140504-203758.jpg

The recipe comes from Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall, although I added a touch more mustard and extra parsley to finish, just because.

20140504-203605.jpg

You will need:

For the trout:

1 whole fresh trout, guts, gills, head and tail removed
Salt, pepper
1 tbspn olive oil
Juice of 1/2 lemon or more

For the aioli:

175ml sunflower oil
75ml extra Virgin olive oil
The fresh yolks of 2 medium eggs
Salt, pepper
2 garlic cloves, crushed
1 tspn Dijon mustard
1 tbspn cider vinegar

Plus a handful of chopped parsley

Method:

1 – Start by seasoning the fish, rubbing a little salt and pepper into the skin
2 – Set the fish aside while you prepare the aioli; mix together the crushed garlic, salt, pepper and mustard
3 – Beat the eggs and then the vinegar into the mustard and in a separate jug combine your oils
4 – Very, very gradually, trickle the oil into the egg mix, beating hard to incorporate the oil into the egg as you go. This should take several minutes and will hurt your arm but don’t be tempted to speed up or you might split the mayo!
5 – Once all the oil is beaten into the eggs, set aside and stir in some chopped parsley if liked
6 – Time to cook the fish; heat the olive oil in a frying pan over a medium-high heat
7 – Add the fish once the pan is almost smoking and fry for 4-5 minutes on each side until the skin is crisp and the flesh pale pink; turn off the heat and leave to cool for a minutes before squeezing over the lemon juice and serving immediately with a large dollop of aioli, parsley, more lemon juice and freshly grilled asparagus

20140504-203707.jpg

18 thoughts on “Trout with aioli

  1. Looks and sounds amazing. Trout is one of my favorite fish and I haven’t eaten it in AGES, that should change now you have posted this beautiful recipe. (I’ve got an Iraqi trout recipe you would probably like on the blog). I’ve never had it with asparagus, sounds like a nice combination. And your pictures are gorgeous!

  2. You have cooked this perfectly! I ADORE salmon but possibly because I have no access to trout. Here in New Zealand, it is legal to fish, cook, eat and give away trout but it is illegal to sell trout or to buy it.

    This means that when I was a child living by a lake, we were given free trout all the time. We were so lucky. But now I live away from the lakes, I haven’t had trout in years. I would love to just go to the shop and buy trout. Perhaps it is time for a vacation by the lakes?

    1. Ohhh wow! I didn’t know that! A holiday by the lakes with wild trout sounds like heaven! It’s fairly common to find trout here, though not as easy to come by as salmon. I must must go to NZ, everytime I hear more and more about it the urge grows

      1. Salmon is everywhere here. I adore it and the quality is always very good. I only buy it when it is on special which is usually less than $25NZ or under £12 a kilo. A kilo would feed 4 to 5 people. I don’t know how that compares with your trout. Is that cheap or expensive?

      2. That sounds like a pretty good price. I’d be hard pushed to find a very good quality salmon in that quantity for £12. You could get it for that price in a supermarket but quality is poor- you normally pay far more in a Decent fishmongers, but you can get good deals in markets – it’s just finding them ! The trout I bought were on offer at 4 whole trout for £8, which is really good considering the quality. (I paid £3.50 for one trout as only me to feed!) it’s not everyday that you’d find a deal like that in London.

  3. That trout looks cooked to perfection, I really wish I could just take it from the screen! We all need to eat more fish and this is the perfect inspiration, just a little aoili and some fresh veggies – voila!

  4. For some reason I thought that I had commented on this already. Maybe cos I was drooling over it on instagram? Ah, I don’t know. ANYWAY, this looks absolutely delicious… love the simplicity of it, and that stunning creamy aioli. Ah, I could just eat a bowl of that alone (and possibly be sick right afterwards, but it would be very, very worth it!). Envying that delicious trout. I haven’t had any for ages… so good! x

    1. Haha, yeah I’m posting on all channels at the moment! It really was the best thing ever. So simple. Really all credit due to the fantastic fishmongers. It’s so good /rare to find such a great piece of fish

Leave a Reply

