Hummus & lamb

IMG_4366

The road ahead is going to be a pretty treacherous one this week. Late nights, hard work, stress, constant reworking… this is what happens every now and again in the world of 3D design. Knowing that this is to come I’m hunkering down with a final homemade meal. And it may as well be a treat meal, right? This certainly was.

IMG_4346

Until the next home cooked meal…

You will need:

For the hummus

250g dried chickpeas
1 tbspn bicarbonate of soda
Salt
Juice of 1.5 lemons
1.5 tbspn tahini
4 garlic cloves, crushed
200ml water
Extra virgin olive oil
Pinch of paprika, to serve

For the lamb:

500g organic lamb mince
2 white onions, chopped
1 tspn cinnamon
1/2 tspn allspice
1/2 tspn white pepper
1/2 tspn black pepper
3 garlic cloves, crushed
1 tbspn za’atar
2 finger chillis, sliced almost in half but left whole
2 sprigs rosemary
1 tbspn white wine vinegar
1 tbspn pine nuts
Olive oil
Salt
Handful of parsley

Method:

For the hummus:

1 – Soak the chickpeas overnight in twice their volume of water spiked with the bicarbonate of soda
2 – The next day drain and rinse the chickpeas, place in a large saucepan and fill with water; bring to the boil and cook for around 30 minutes until soft but not mushy
3 – Once soft, drain and rinse the chickpeas, discarding any skins that separate
4 – Blend the chickpeas (reserving a few for garnish) together with 3/4 the tahini, 3/4 lemon juice, 3/4 garlic and around 1 tspn of salt and around half the water to start with
5 – I’d advise adding a little of each ingredient in batches after the first blend, tasting as you go in order to reach the flavour you prefer; add more water to reach the desired smooth consistency
6 – Serve with a drizzle of olive oil, the reserved whole chickpeas and a sprinkle of paprika

For the lamb:

1 – Heat a little oil in a frying pan and add the onions; cook until soft then stir in all the spices, chilli and garlic
2 – Add the lamb mince after another minute or so of cooking; use a spoon to break the mince up slightly and allow to brown; season with salt
3 – Add the rosemary and vinegar and pine nuts then leave to cook over a low-medium heat for 20-30 minutes until the meat is tender then stir in the parsley
4 – Serve the lamb on top of the hummus and top with an extra garnish of parsley

IMG_4362

24 thoughts on “Hummus & lamb

  1. This looks unbelievably satisfying. Your hummus looks super smooth, that overnight soak and the removal of the skins does wonders for texture. Good luck with your work :) Ps I love your little dish, is it enamel? I’m fairly sure I’ve been looking at buying the set for aaages!

    1. Yep the overnight soak (rather than tinned) is the key I think! Thank you :-)
      Little dish is actually a metal knock off of the falcon ones. I imagine you might have your eye on those? Theyre lovely but these only cost me £1 each so there was no comparison for me (and my purse!) the falcon ones are fairly pricey! But lovely. X

  2. I’ve wanted to make lamb-topped hummus for ages, ever since I saw it in Ottolenghi’s Jerusalem! This looks absolutely divine Becky. I am sorry that it had to be the ‘last meal’ before a tough stretch at work though. That sucks. May you reach the end of it very soon!! xxxx

    1. Me too! I kind of followed that recipe (ish) actually. Although he uses waaaaay too much tahini for me! My quantity is reduced by over half and is still quite strong with it. Thanks my dear- I’ve got leftovers to help! Ha xx

    1. That would indeed be the perfect accompaniment! We had it with loads roasted veggies like Aubergines for a slightly lighter dinner and it was really delicious too :-)

  3. I love the idea of adding the lamb to the top to make a more substantial dish. I slow roast lamb and often have that with hummus in a wrap, but this would be much quicker to make and therefore quicker to my tummy!

  4. MMm, this is one of my favourite meals – so satisfying! Great idea to put a touch of paprika in your hummus – will give that a try. The home made stuff is so much more delicious than the shop-bought plus super easy.

    1. Totally with you. Supermarket stuff is rubbish but occasionally, in my experience, you can find fairly decent ones in Turkish stores and it’s so so cheap! For when a hummus craving occurs but you just can’t wait

  5. Hi Lime&Barley! This recipe sounds like a stunner. Yum! By the way I usually add the cooking liquid from the chickpeas to my hummus. It is way more flavourful than adding water, I reckon. ;) I will be visiting this blog often. Have a nice weekend!

      1. Ah you add bicarb soda.. didn’t see that. I don’t usually, partly because I’m not sure if it helps the beans to cook quicker and I usually use the cooking liquid of any beans I cook from scratch (soups, poaching eggs…etc). For me the cooking liquid is one good reason not to buy canned beans. I’m sure your hummus is just as delish. It also looks super smooth. Angie

Leave a Reply

