Beetroot salad with dill & pomegranate molasses

IMG_8254

Just a simple meze-style salad from me tonight. Yep, I’m still in Turkish-eating mode. It’s really quite hot in London at the moment and as a result I am just carrying on eating in holiday style – cool sides that are simple to prepare with simple grilled fish, squid or meat is what I’m craving. For dinner this evening I served up yoghurt smothered beetroot sprinkled with dill, sweetened with pomegranate molasses and flavoured with za’atar – and thought I’d share the results. Ready-cooked beetroot is really brilliant for this sort of meal. As nice as roasted, fresh-baked beetroots are, they just aren’t speedy – and I can’t bear to turn on the oven in this heat. I’m happy to cheat :-)

This accompanied some chicken stuffed with herby, spicy feta and a simple, refreshing salad of cucumber, parsley, spring onion and red pepper. My idea of a filling, flavoursome and easy/quick summertime meal.

IMG_8249

 

You will need:

400g cooked beetroots (natural, not brined or in vinegar)
2-3 tbspn fresh chopped dill, to taste
1 garlic clove, crushed
3 tbspns Greek yoghurt (I used nonfat Total brand, which is my favourite/suggested as it’s thick. Use full fat if preferred)
1 tspn za’atar
1 tbspn pomegranate molasses
Salt, pepper

 

Method:

Mix together the yoghurt, molasses, garlic, za’atar and seasoning – check the taste is okay for you and add more molasses or seasoning as needed. Stir in the beetroot and half the dill. Fold together gently or mix well – depending on how pink you want your yoghurt to turn, or whether you want a more marbled pink/white look! (I mixed well and went for the shocking pink look). Scatter over the extra dill and serve.

IMG_8269

 

7 thoughts on “Beetroot salad with dill & pomegranate molasses

  1. Oh my goodness this is exactly what I want right now. I know I sound like a broken record, but every time I visit your blog I get so inspired. You cook with all the flavors and ingredients I love. Thank you for all the fabulous ideas!

Leave a Reply

