Chilled avocado, cucumber & lime soup with crabmeat

IMG_8791

This is without a doubt the quickest meal I’ve ever prepared in my kitchen. It was as quick as making buttered toast, faster than poaching an egg. Fast food indeed. And pretty damn healthy I’d say.
The motives behind this meal are twofold. The first is the upcoming wedding of my mum (10 days and counting!). You see I need to fit into my bridesmaid dress and it’s a little snugger than I’d hoped! Doh! The second is – I need something fast because my journey home was delayed due to a bicycle puncture and also I want to be done with food so I can watch The Killing (I’m new to it and I’m ADDICTED).

So this soup is kind of like guacamole – but it’s actually easier to make because you just blend everything together. The flavours are similar – it’s sharp with lime, creamy with avocado, hot with chilli, fragrant with coriander. But I also added cucumber for refreshing, watery coolness and creme fraiche for extra creaminess. It was rich and delicious, decadent. Yet, everything in it was natural and healthy. WIN.

IMG_8793

You will need:

For the soup:
3 ripe hass avocados
1 small cucumber, peeled and roughly chopped
1 heaped tbspn half-fat creme fraiche
Small bunch of coriander
1 green finger/Thai chilli
Juice of 1 lime
1 tspn white pepper
1 tspn salt
Enough water to create a soup texture (about 1 cup, but adjust to your liking. I like mine fairly thick)

To serve:
A drizzle of extra virgin olive oil
2 tspn creme fraiche
1 dressed crab (white and brown meat)
Coriander leaves, to garnish

Method:

Blend all of the ingredients above until completely smooth, adding a little water as you go until the desired consistency is reached. Adjust seasoning to taste then serve between two bowls with the crabmeat, creme fraiche, coriander and extra virgin olive oil (optional) on top.

IMG_8796 2

6 thoughts on “Chilled avocado, cucumber & lime soup with crabmeat

    1. Thanks! Me neither, but I’ll certainly be having it again. Not sure what it would be like in a hot soup but then again I don’t think I’ve eaten a hot avocado ever so maybe there’s a topic to explore!

Leave a Reply

