Lemony roast rabbit & offal skewers

IMG_9428

Yesterday I discovered a fantastic butcher not too far from my house – there was a queue right out the door, which was good sign number 1. There was a sign stating that they only stock free range meat, and it listed the British suppliers of their various different meats – good sign number 2. I’d been reading my Jamie Oliver’s Great Britain book earlier in the day, with half a mind to try and make one of the recipes in it – honey & lemon rabbit with offal skewers. I thought I’d have trouble getting my hands on rabbit here in South London, but this butcher had everything, and produced a jointed rabbit – good sign number 3!

IMG_9443
I purchased the rabbit, and its offal, plus 4 rashers of the best smokey bacon I’ve ever tasted and a jar of freshly made game stock. What great produce – and a great recipe. I slightly altered Jamie’s recipe (removed a couple of steps involving cheese that I didn’t fancy) and served the rabbit with a pearl barley/squash risotto made using the game stock and nutmeggy cabbage. This was an incredibly easy recipe and I’d definitely recommend trying it if you’re a virgin rabbit-cooker too. If like me you’re also a bit of a virgin offal-easter too, please don’t throw away the offal! It took minutes to prepare and cook and I was surprised by how much I enjoyed them. Give it a go :)

IMG_9445
You will need:

1 rabbit, jointed into 8 pieces (2 legs, 2 shoulders, 2 pieces of saddle, 2 pieces of belly) plus the offal
4 rashers free range streaky smoked bacon, chopped
1/2 tspn nutmeg
1 tspn allspice
1 tbspn Dijon mustard
Olive oil
Salt, pepper
4 garlic cloves, bashed
5 sprigs rosemary
1 lemon, quartered
1 tbspn honey
Knob of butter

IMG_9470

Method:

1 – Preheat the oven to 180 degrees. Place rabbit joints (plus any leftover bones) and chopped bacon in a large mixing bowl with plenty of seasoning, a few glugs of olive oil, the nutmeg, allspice and mustard
2 – Mix well then heat a little olive oil in a frying pan and brown the rabbit/bacon pieces (in batches) all over.
3 – Transfer the browned meat to an oven tray along with the rosemary, garlic and lemon wedges. Add a splash of water and cover the tray tightly with foil.
4 – Roast in the oven for 1 hour. Meanwhile prepare the offal. Cut each pice into a bite sized chunk, season and thread into a soaked wooden or metal skewer. Set aside
5 – Check the rabbit after one hour. Remove the foil and use tongs to squeeze out the juice from the lemon pieces. Squeeze over the honey and return to the oven for 5 minutes to glaze.
6 – Meanwhile heat a little oil and butter in a frying pan. Cook the offal skewers briefly (2 mins max, 1 min on each side). Serve together with the glazed rabbit plus the roasted juices.

 

IMG_9488

8 thoughts on “Lemony roast rabbit & offal skewers

  1. I’ve never cooked with rabbit before. I only tried eating it for the first time last week, it was cooked into a pie that Aaron ordered at a pub. Quite nice indeed (but this looks way, way nicer! Love the beautiful herby seasoning; I’m sure Jamie O would be proud!). As for Jamie Oliver books in general, I just purchased his Comfort Food book from Waterstones a couple of days ago (so much for travelling light – I had to restrain myself from buying the new Ottolenghi too!). Another beautiful post Becky… real Autumnal food xxx

    1. Ooh rabbit pie! Now there’s an idea. I’ve only eaten in a few times but always really like it. We found that with cooking the whole thing it seems very similar to chicken – leaner white meat, juicier dark meat – only with a superior flavour. I need some new cookbooks! That one sounds good, I’ve got my eyes on his grilled cheese sandwich idea (earmarked for next hangover day)! Thanks my dear hope you’re still enjoying the UK :-) xx

Leave a Reply

