Pistachio, basil & barberry falafel

IMG_5034
A simple, veggie, flavoursome midweek dinner idea inspired by a recipe for pistachio falafel in the Green Kitchen cookbook.

IMG_5016

These falafel are super soft, airy and moist. Not at all clacky and mouth-stopping as they so often can be. This recipe yields a falafel that melts in your mouth rather than crunches – although I kind of like a bit of a crunch to be honest.

IMG_5022

I chose to add basil as I had it to hand and like the combo with pistachios. The reason for the barberries? They’re super and are my new favourite ingredient. I’m trying them in everything at the mo – and in falafel they totally work.

IMG_5029

I enjoyed these served with yoghurt spiked with pomegranate molasses (try this – super yummy!) and a sharp, refreshing salad of rocket, basil and grapes. That idea was nicked from Green Kitchen – serving falafel with grapes. A nice idea.

IMG_5037

You will need:

40g pistachios
300g chickpeas (tinned and drained)
10g barberries
1 clove garlic, crushed
2 spring onions, chopped
1 tspn chilli flakes
3 tbspn olive oil
Juice 1/2 lemon
Handful basil leaves
1 tspn each caraway, cumin and coriander seed, freshly ground
Salt and pepper, to taste

IMG_5032

Method:

1 – Preheat the oven to 190 degrees.
2 – Blend all the ingredients above to form a rough paste.
3 – Roll the paste into small balls, just smaller than golf balls. You’ll end up with about 10.
4 – Place on a baking sheet and pop into the oven for 25 mins, turning halfway through cooking time. Once lightly golden, they’re ready to eat.

IMG_5045

6 thoughts on “Pistachio, basil & barberry falafel

  1. Lovely falafel, Becky. The first time I made my own I followed the Green kitchen stories recipe too. Now I make my own (and they are really different from yours ;) ). I love how versatile they are, and love your tweaks and additions. Barberries, spring onion, basil! So delicious!

Leave a Reply

