Cardamom chicken & yoghurt curry

IMG_8847

This is a riff on a chicken korma, that oh-so-British dish that was an absolute favourite when I was about 12. I think my taste buds have *ahem* slightly matured and my tastes *advanced* since then and I haven’t eaten a good old takeaway korma since then. I probably wouldn’t have even thought to attempt to cook one myself, but I saw a Rick Stein recipe in his book, India, that sounded and looked great.

IMG_8845

This isn’t Rick’s recipe – I’ve really changed it quite a lot. I chose not to add coconut, opted for cashews over almonds and omitted the raisins and black cardamom he adds at the end. I’m sure his recipe is delicious, but so was this. Really tasty, and pretty damn indulgent. I must admit I chose to cook this as I’ve got a rotten hangover today and it’s probably the easiest curry I’ve ever made. You don’t have to really chop anything at all and most of the hard work is done by the blender.

IMG_8848

 

You will need:

1 tbspn ghee
2 white onions, roughly chopped
1kg bone-in free range chicken thighs
200ml natural yoghurt
200g cashew nuts, soaked in water for 30 mins
1 tbspn chilli flakes (kashmiri)
8 cardamom pods, bashed slightly
8 cloves
1 cinnamon stick
Water
Salt

Method:

1 – Place the onions in a blender, with a little water if necessary, and whizz to a smooth paste
2 – Heat the ghee in a large deep frying pan and add the cardamom, cloves and cinnamon: fry for 30 seconds til fragrant
3 – Tip the onion paste into the pan and a generous pinch of salt: fry for 10 minutes, stirring often, til the onions are soft but not brown
4 – Stir the chilli flakes into the onion and add the chicken thighs: cook til the chicken browns slightly, adding a little water if the onions start to take on much colour
5 – While the chicken browns blend together the yoghurt and drained cashews with a little water to loosen
6 – Take the chicken pan off the heat and stir in the yoghurt mix plus about 200ml water: return to the heat and gently bring to a simmer
7 – Cook on a simmer, uncovered, for 30-40 minutes til the meat is cooked through: shred the meat from the bones if liked, check seasoning and serve with fluffy rice or roti/naan bread ‘mops’

IMG_8851

5 thoughts on “Cardamom chicken & yoghurt curry

  1. You know, I’ve never really used ghee despite knowing that it adds extra flavour to proper Indian curries. I might just invest in some next time!! Haha – it must be hangover season. I had a terrifically terrible one on Monday and I swore never to drink again (one of the up-vomiting-overnight-with-work-the-next-day ones) but here I am now considering this curry and a nice strong beer tonight! I’m impressed you could still muster motivation to photograph dinner when feeling so rubbish (iron woman, methinks!) xx

    1. Haha, oh poor you! Why oh why do we do it to ourselves?! Well, I literally just took a few snaps. There’s no huge effort into my photography ever! ha i should care more. x

Leave a Reply

