Thyme lamb koftes

IMG_9784_2

It’s lamb time. As regular readers will know, I bloody love lamb, and I actually think my favourite type of lamb, weirdly, is in mince form. I think it’s the love of Turkish adana and things that really make me swoon for this pretty bog standard choice. It can handle so much spice, good ol’ lamb. It’s earthy, sweet flavour still seeps through no matter how much else you throw at it. I like that. Powerful hits of flavour.

IMG_9794

It’s fairly obvious to point out, I’m sure, but these aren’t traditional. I’ve made more traditional kofte b’siniyah before, but truth be told felt like just chucking in the spices I fancied tonight. These below are probably some of my all time favourite spices, so it was always going to be a winner dinner.

IMG_9796 2

You will need:

500g lamb mince
4 shallots, diced
1 tbspn pul biber
1 tspn cinnamon
1 tspn ground cumin seeds
1 tbspn za’atar
1 tspn fresh thyme
1 tbspn sumac
2 tbspns freshly toasted pine nuts
Generous amount of salt and black pepper

IMG_9799 2

Method:

Preheat an overhead grill to 200 degrees.
Mix together all the ingredients for the koftes using your hands
Shape into about 9 or 10 ‘torpedos’ and pop on a baking sheet
Cook under the grill for around 12-15 minutes or until just cooked through and golden, turning just over halfway through cooking

Good things to serve them with:

*Mandatory* tahini sauce (yoghurt, tahini, lemon juice, seasoning, garlic)
Pomegranate seeds
Pinch of sumac
Cucumber salad
Flatbreads

IMG_9801 2

10 thoughts on “Thyme lamb koftes

  1. Oh my the whole meal looks incredible. I love lamb as well, but am more familiar with Indian koftes. But either way, authentic or not, they’re fabulous!!!

  2. Stunning. Just gorgeous, Becky. I still remember our lamb conversation in the pub… definitely the most awesome protein to handle earthy spices in large amounts! Love your version of traditional koftes. Such a friendly way to eat when served with big piles of warm flatbread (definitely agree re mandatory sauce – so addicted to tahini right now!!!!) xxxx

    1. Yesss it’s just the best. Thanks so much! Yep, tahini everything for me too. Have you tried it mixed with honey, vinegar and soy sauce? Makes the most incredible Japanese-style dressing for greens :) x

Leave a Reply

